Posted in Ordinarylife

Kids’ photos?

I went to our first parents evening at Little OL’s new school last week.  It was good and just cemented the reasons why I have chosen that school for Little OL.

There was one item raised that got me thinking though. At the meeting they said that they are in the process of getting a new website designed and they would like to use photos of kids working and playing – no posed photos.  On the old website the only photos were empty class rooms or the backs of heads.  They will be sending out consent forms later this week requesting permission to use our child’s photographs on the website.  My initial reaction was NO!

But seriously – how stupid is that!  I have an open blog.  I post her photos here. I have a Facebook page, I post her photos there – not all the albums are private.  I have even put her photo on Twitter.  Why would I object to having her photos on the school website?  Then I started thinking about all the kids that do child modelling – their photos are out there.   I know that I am living with a false sense of anonymity or was until 6000 shattered it a couple of years ago.  I have tried to keep Little OL’s name out of my blog, as well as the name of her school.  In fact I have not even put the name of her school up on private posts on FB.  If any of my friends ask then I send them a message as opposed to putting it on my wall.  It would not be that hard to figure out though.  Do you post the name of your kid’s school on your blog?

Do you feel that having your kids’ photos up on your blog or Facebook is putting them in any sort of additional danger?  How would you feel about having your kids’ photos on the school’s website?

Here is a photo of Little OL taken over the weekend – I can’t believe how grown up she is getting.

1st Pony Ride!
1st Pony Ride!
12 thoughts on “Kids’ photos?

    1. I also have her name on FB, I think there it is impossible to keep off, especially as most of the people there are family or friends. I have kept it off my blog and Twitter though.

  1. I don’t share pics of my kids online and I don’t mention their names either. I should blog about it some more. Part of it is the safety thing, part of it is purely to respect their privacy. I KNOW that I wouldn’t have wanted my Mom to share pics of me all over the place. We had a similar request to put pics of Child1 on the aftercare website. I said NO and surprisingly so did most of the other parents. I don’t judge anyone who posts pics of their kids. I love looking at pics of peoples kids. It’s just not “my” thing. In all this time that I’ve blogged I think I maybe posted 3 pics of my kids.

    1. I do think carefully about which pictures I post and try and respect the fact that as she is older there are going to be certain photos she will not want “out there”. I am also aware that not everybody’s intentions are good or just look at the teh “cuteness factor” of certain photos so don’t post those on FB or my blog. (like bath or underwear etc).

  2. I think your resistance may be because once people know the school, they’ll know where she is the whole day M – F and technically that’s a safety issue.

    So I think that’s valid and I would do the same too.

    As you know, I blog/ fb freely (the blog is semi-anonymous) but I don’t put lots of pics on FB like I see others do. I have some boundaries – no n@ked/ bath pics and only decent pics 🙂

    That’s the extent of it.

    I do feel like people mostly get up in arms about an issue (privacy) without really thinking because really, what are people going to do? There is still more of a chance of someone harming your kid that you know (not YOU, per se, just the generic ‘you’) than some random internet stranger. I’m now speaking like an insurance person!

    1. It is definitley the fact that then somebody would know where she is. I don’t want that. But as you say it is generally somebody that knows the kid that causes the harm. I do my best to protect her whether she is on the internet or not, and I am sure that her school takes all necessary and possible measures to protect all the kids.

      I also have boundaries of what I put on FB. One of my friends put a photo of our girls playing without their shirts and I asked her to take it down. I

  3. I am ok with the way I blog – THe photos are there and their names not, but it’s not reocket science if you really scratch around to see where they are. On Facebook I am a bit more open but then I do not except friend requests without making sure I know who it is.

    1. I also don’t accept Friend requests unless I know who the person is, if it is a internet friend then I need to have been following their blog for quite a while.

      I am a lot more open on my blog lately, but still work on the assuption that you never know who is reading what I write. My name is not difficult to figure out – especially as I write reports on races that I have done. I had somobody figure out using the results.

  4. I am indifferent (guess if I had kids I might sing a different tune). That said, as a parent one must decide what to put out there and what not to and hope that you are making the right decision.

    I probably wouldn’t mind pictures on the school website, as long as the names of the kids are not mentioned.

  5. All the photos I post on FB regarding my kids, are all Private. I have started posting some photos of my kids on my blog which is also opened. It’s a difficult question this. Something you are going to have to decided yourself

I would love to hear from you

