Posted in 30 Days of Gratitude, Family, Ordinarylife

What do you choose?

I choose to be an optimist, to believe the best in people and to believe in honesty and accidents. I choose to see beauty around me.

Since 14 February I have been thinking about how everybody has react to the whole Oscar / Reeva shooting and how I feel about it.  I am not saying I don’t believe he is guilty – he shot somebody, whether he intended it to be Reeva he shot that is a different story.

But, this post however is not about him.  It is about me!  It is about what I choose and how I choose to feel in situations like this.  I don’t want to go around thinking the worst in everybody.  I don’t want to see the doom and gloom in the world.  I don’t want to think that there is only bad out there.

I want to see the beauty in a sunset or sun rise, I want to believe that people are inherently good.  I want to enjoy my life and to enjoy the abundant kindness that surrounds me.  I want to believe in luck and that hard work does pays off.  I want to enjoy footprints in the sand, walks along the beach and kisses from family.  Yes, I will be disappointed along the way, let down and called naïve.  I don’t care.  What other options are there, to live in a hole seeing only darkness, to be pessimistic and think that only bad is going to happen?  Yes, I know bad does happen, and often, but so does good.  I choose to see and focus on that even if at times it is very hard.

How do you choose to live your life?

11 thoughts on “What do you choose?

  1. So very true.

    I also choose the happy, sometimes though i forget and get bogged down by the negative.

    But choose the positive and I feel the negative automatically goes away. Declare that you are happy/in love/ fit whatever and you will believe it. Believe you are miz, and well, you’ll be miz!

    1. so very true! I especially realised this when I did the 30 days of Gratitude. The more I thought about what I had to be grateful for the more grateful I was and the more I saw.

  2. I’m the same. I explained all this just last night to someone actually about how, yes, there is a lot of crime all around but I can’t focus on that. There’s also TONS of beauty and good things around too

  3. Yip, I definitely do the focus on the good thing. As Shayne said, believe you are miz and you will be. Though saying that, I do sometimes have down days for no real reason.

    1. I think we all do! Sometimes there just seems like so much bad it is really difficult to focus on the good. I have found that it does take effort – but is worth it.

  4. I ALWAYS see the best in people, much to my detriment sometimes. I always give people the benefit of the doubt. So yes, I focus on the good thing even though it is hard sometimes.

I would love to hear from you

