Posted in Ordinarylife, Running, Trail Running, Training

Not a happy camper!

So it is beginning to look like I might not be running this city after all.

For the past 5 / 6 weeks or so I have had a pain in my foot.  It is an odd one as the pain is not constant but when it does hit, it stays – usually for about 3-4 days.  I then rest, the pain goes away, I go for a run and it comes back.  Not straight away, I can run for about 10km and nothing, as long as the run is flat.  As soon as I hit an incline the pain hits, and then it stays for another 3 – 4 days.  It is on my right foot near the outside edge and is ANNOYING!  Especially as I have so many races lined up.

I went to the chiropractor, and he did a few things (that involved needling and lots of pain) and it eased up, but then I ran again (up a hill), and it was back.  On Wednesday he sent me for an ultrasound scan and then x-rays – nothing showed up.  No ligament damage, no muscle tears, no tendonitis, no nothing.  All good, that ruled out a whole lot of things, but the one thing that it does not rule out is a stress fracture.  They don’t always show up.  To rule that out we would need to do another (much more expensive) scan – which at this point I can’t really afford.  This is not good news.  But here is what we are going to do.

I am going to rest until Wednesday, he is going to treat me again and then I need to go for a run – shortish and up a hill.  Hopefully the pain will be gone, but if it comes back we are going to treat it like a stress fracture – which basically means rest it for 6 or so weeks.  I will also go for gait analysis (which I will probably do anyway) to see why it happened in the first place.

URGH – I want this to be gone.  I really wanted to do the trails and especially the trail run in Knysna but the Dryland Traverse is much more important to me.  I really need to be fit enough to do that.  If it is a stress fracture (and I am still hoping it is not) I guess my bike and I will be bonding a lot more to keep my fitness levels up, and I will be hitting the pool. At suppose at least I will be then be getting a head start on my triathlon training for next season.

18 thoughts on “Not a happy camper!

  1. oh pamie! I feel your pain. I have been battling bloody fasciitis for the past few months, been running through it but now its becoming really eina in the mornings so have decided to see a physio next week. I have lost so much ground running-wise and its depressing really. strongs to you – really hope it isnt the fracture and that you recover quickly!

  2. Thanks all. I am really holding thumbs that this is not too serious and that a bit of a rest is all that is required. I really don’t feel like being laid off for hte next 6 weeks at least if it is a stress fracture.

    1. Unfortunately no running for me for at least the next 3 weeks. Now a really grumpy camper….. It has been suggested that I used this time so stretch and strengthen – I really wish we were closer!

I would love to hear from you

