Posted in Baby OL, Children, Family, Ordinarylife

The little things

I am not going to say that I have things sorted with Little OL because 3 year olds change their minds at the drop of a hat, but let’s just say that last week was MUCH better than the week before.

I asked our nanny to come in 30 minutes later, so that we would have already left the house by the time she arrived (I had to laugh to myself about that one, I must be the only woman in SA that asked her nanny to come in late) and I have been fetching her at midday.  This unfortunately takes an hour out of my work day which I can’t really afford at the moment, but it is a small price to pay for a happy child.

She still moans when she wakes that she does not want to go to school but as soon as I mentioned that she would be all alone at home and that her nanny is only coming in much later she goes and gets dressed and ready. There have been no tears (her or me) and no drama….Ahhhhh, I love a peaceful house.

It is amazing what a difference those two changes have made.

 

09.08.2013

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “The little things

    1. We have had them for ages,they are Jenga ??? blocks. We have also recently seen them among the board games section at some shopes

  1. Anything that works!!!!! Even if it means asking the nanny to come in a little later. Just glad you found something that works even if only temporarily, though I hope it is just a passing phase

    1. Thank you, I do too. Maybe in a couple of months it wont be such an issue anyway. My job ends at the end of October.

  2. Amazing how the smallest (and often most insignificant to the eye) changes make a huge difference. Good on you, and yes, let’s hope it lasts.

    Polly loves those block too!

    1. The blocks are great aren’t they. And with the little things making such a difference it really makes you wonder what else affects them and how….

    1. Yes, but I do realise that some time the solutions are only temporary. Parents need to keep coming up with new things as the goal posts change.

I would love to hear from you

