Posted in hiking, Medal Displays, Medal Hangers, Running, Trail Running, Training

A Park Run and a Trail Run

I ran this weekend.

I don’t know how wise it was but I was going stir crazy not running, my foot is just getting more and more painful and I figured “what the hell” Resting it does not seem to be working anyway, it’s been 12 weeks of almost no running.

I might have slightly over done it by doing two races but still….

On the Saturday I did the Hobie Beach Park Run.  They are awesome and what a fantastic idea!  5 km held in a park or open area, you register once, get a bar code then just arrive.  No matter where you are in South Africa you can just rock up with your bar-code at the local one.  If you are a Discovery member you get 500 points and as long as you have registered that on the system then the points are automatically updated.  Each race is timed and so you can gauge your progress…. And best of all the FREE!  They are very popular.  Here is the link to the Park Run SA!

On Sunday I did a trail run.  11km which I said I would walk but once out there I ran quite a bit of it anyway.  Well the parts that were not up a steep hill, or down a steep hill, or where the view was stunning, or where it was too rocky (ok, there was a lot of walking)  At one stage I had to give myself a bit of pep talk about all the photo taking.  I knew it was bad when I thought about taking photos of the fynbos….

But OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!!!  The views were STUNNING (yes all the caps are necessary).  I only had my phone with me but even with that I got some decent photos – more to do with the scenery than my photography skills.

2013-08-25 10.16.43

2013-08-25 09.45.35

2013-08-25 10.31.07

2013-08-25 10.32.21

I can’t believe that an area like this is so close to PE.  I absolutely love mountains (and the sea, but this post is about mountains)

And the good news is that I don’t think I killed my foot – it is no worse today than it was on Friday.  Yippee – I am going to start training again.  I have 2 months left before the Fairview Dryland Traverse!  I will worry more about it after that.

And just incase you haven’t figured it out it – I was the girl there promoting her stainless steel medal hangers……. SA Medal Hangers

16 thoughts on “A Park Run and a Trail Run

  1. Hmmm, Pamela are you sure it is a good idea to be running without an all clear. Walking I am sure should be fine, but running, I just hope you are not causing any further damage

    Those views are amazeballs…

    1. I am sure that running is probably a very, very bad idea. But, I needed to get out there and do something. I will only do shorter walk runs this week to see how it goes. I did have xrays and stuff and they cant see anything wrong so……?

  2. Those are indeed some incredible photos. Beautiful scenery!

    That is why trail running > road running :).

    Good luck healing up your foot!

    Cheers,

    – James

    1. It was quite sore on Tuesday, but is better than it has been in ages today. I will run again this weekend, but not as much. The views were awesome!

I would love to hear from you

