Posted in Family, Gardening, Ordinarylife

I got a bit carried away….

Mr OL should know by now not to leave me alone in the garden with a pair of gardening shears….. It is pretty much the same as leaving me alone with a paint brush in my hand!  I tend to get a little bit carried away.

What started off as a gentle trim back of a slightly overgrown Plumbago ended up with this……..

 

My new succulent garden.  🙂

Succulent Garden

 

The gentle trim ended up with me hauling the whole bush out.  I had a few of the succulents already and bought a few more.   I also bought the white stones but the rest of the stuff I just repurposed from other areas of the garden.  The old gate I found at one of the properties I bought and it has been lying around here for a few years now.  I loved the shape but had no idea what to do with it.  The pots and rocks I had, and the air plants we also had.

I love how it turned out.  Hopefully it fills out a bit soon.  I also bought some draping succulents to put on the gat but then could not figure out how to attach them, so the air plants will just have to do for now.  At least when they flower they are a magnificent purple.

I don’t have before photos – as this project was slightly unplanned……

 

After I hauled out the Plumbago and other the plants that were hidden by it
After I hauled out the Plumbago and other the plants that were hidden by it
I put down a sheet to stop the weeds and so my stones did not disapear
I put down a sheet to stop the weeds and so my stones did not disapear
Trying to get the design right.....
Trying to get the design right…..
The planting starts (and I have already managed to kill one of them – one lost all its leaves just after this photo)
The end result
The end result
9 thoughts on “I got a bit carried away….

I would love to hear from you

