Posted in Comrades Marathon

My races for 2015

My running goals for 2015

I love running and being fit, but I need goals.  I am not very good at getting up at 4:30am day after day “for fun”  I need something to training for – a goal to work towards and so, to keep motivated (and because the races sell out very quickly) I have already entered all my “big” races for the year.  I am VERY excited and more than a little scared.  They are a stretch for me, there are some rather big ones in there – some because of the distances and another because of the technical bits (and tough cut offs).

Here they are:

First up – the Friendly City Marathon.  I have already qualified for both Two Oceans and Comrades but am going to do the Friendly City Marathon in February anyway. I had hoped to improve my seeding in Comrades, but I have not run much more than I did before the last one (common problem) so will just run it for fun. Last year this race was my first stand alone marathon.

Next up, but still in February is my first rather big race – a 44km trail run in Addo.  This will be hard for a number of reasons, firstly it’s an ultra-marathon (anything over 42.2 km is an Ultra), secondly it is a trail run and thirdly it is probably going to be very hot.

Next up is Two Oceans Ultra Marathon – I was toying with this one, but SA Medal Hangers will have a stand at the Expo so I will be in Cape Town anyway so thought why not…. I will consider it a training run for my next BIG one, which will be………

Yes, the Comrades Marathon…… Yikes!!!  This one is rather scary – the distance, the heat….. the fact that SA Medal Hangers will have a stand at the expo and I need to figure out a way to do that and run…. It is not a good idea to stand too much in the days leading up to the race.

Then, in October, the one that I am most looking forward to.  My sister, her fiancé and I have all managed to get an entry for the Otter Trail Run.  The have 2 races, one with very strict cut offs and the other still very tough but slightly more lenient.  We are doing the slightly more lenient one.  This is the race I am most excited about and most nervous about…. It is 42km on very technical trail.  I love trail running but am not that good over very technical stuff – or on hectic ups… or downs…. And this race has all of those. But hey – it is on one of my favourite trails so how bad can it be… J

So those are my big races – I will do a few smaller ones in between, mostly because I love races – they are my social time. It is where I see all my friends and chat, sometimes run a bit….

PS: you can click on the names of the races (highlighted) for more info

17 thoughts on “My races for 2015

  1. Crazy runners LOL!!! Nothing you listed here sounds easy but I’m sure you will ace them all. Interestingly 2015 is the one year I’m not planning to enter a lot of organized races, the prices just keep getting steeper and steeper D:Are you coming to Gauteng for any races or to exhibit? Would be great to meet youi if you do come up to this side of the world!!

    1. Hi The prices are getting crazy – but I figured I would probably spend that on going out if I had a social life….. so may as well spend it entering races.

      And I am not sure about Gauteng this year. I still need to decided if I am going to exhibit at the 94.7 Cycle Expo – I probably will though. It would be AWESOME if we could meet up.

  2. I’m not a long distance runner. I just don’t enjoy it that much, but I would still like to do the Knysna Forest 21 and some of the other beautiful runs like Meiringspoort, ect. If I was a Ultra runner the Otter would be top of my list though. Not that I think there is too much time to enjoy the scenery. But still….

    1. I havent done Meiringspoort either and would love to one year. I have done Knysna and love it. I have hiked the Otter Trail quite a few times and it is stunning. I will have to hike it again some time to appreciate it.

I would love to hear from you

