Posted in Cycling, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Training, Triathlon

What the heck?

So I went for a ride this morning – and it was terrible.  I did not know what was happening.  I just could not keep up at all!  I kept dropping off the back of the group – it was awful.  Yes there was a headwind, but it did not seem to be hampering anyone else.  My heart rate was sky high and I was really trying hard.  In the end I said to them to leave me and I would head home as I just could not keep up.  I went a little further on my own and then thought maybe I had a soft tyre or something.  I got of my bike and looked at it. 

Nope, no flat!  I was really getting worried. Maybe I had over trained or I was coming down with something. Then I notice my front brake!  It was locked on my wheel.  NO WONDER I could not ride! The brake had shifted and was pressing against the wheel.  I fixed that little problem and flew for the rest of the ride.  What a relief!  I thought I had taken 10 steps backwards in my riding ability.  I mean these were the same people that I had kept up with on Tuesday!  Humph nothing like a bit of unexpected resistance training!

So – NOTE TO SELF! Check brakes before each ride!