Posted in Family, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Running, Training, Triathlon

Tortoise and the hare?

The Tortoise and the Hare
The Tortoise and the Hare

Some people are just so annoying!  Actually one person specifically – my husband!

 

When we first met he ran quite a bit but lately has not done much –none since July to be precise!  I have been trying to get him to go running with me but he was not having it.  

 

In the meantime I have been training quite a bit (understatement).  Both my times and distances have improved dramatically.  So when hubby said he wanted to go for a run yesterday I was both extremely happy and filled with a bit of trepidation.  Happy he was going to run, but a bit nervous about whipping his ass! 

 

I should not have worried – why is it that some people can just run!!!  It is so unfair.  Here I am training my butt off and he goes for one run in 8 months and is out there way ahead?  He left me way behind, cursing him.  Well cursing him when I get a breath in, between all the puffing. 

7 thoughts on “Tortoise and the hare?

  1. My husband is just like that. Forever saying he is SO unfit (that is me actually) and yet he casually rides a 65km MTB race with no problems whatsoever. I think some people are naturally inclined to fitness (unlike me!).

  2. Hahaha, that reminds me of last time I ran with Alberto. I was at least 100 meters ahead of him the whole 5 or 6 km and felt like “Hooray, finally something I’m better at”, only to be overtaken and left way behind on the last kilometer. He had left me hanging in front because he liked watching me … !

  3. I wish I could say that about me. I need to get excersising but… I’ll be even further back huffing and puffing… end getting into the ambulance.

  4. I think it’s just something to do with men, husbands in particular. For example, I am always on a diet and it’s a struggle for me. Jason decides he needs to lose 10 pounds and cuts back to having only one dessert instead of two, and within days he’s lost ten pounds. Aughhhhh!

I would love to hear from you